Lochore Meadows offers the perfect place to rest weary legs while enjoying fine scenery and hospitality. The onwards journey to Kinglassie offers panoramic views of West Fife as the path winds through pasture land rich with wild flowers and shrubs.
In this area of Fife, the paths taken by pilgrims hundreds of years ago are now largely concealed beneath the industrial landscape. The Medieval travellers looked out for each other when the going got tough, and were bonded together through shared experience. In this way, they were not so dissimilar to the mining communities that later developed here.
To find out more about the facilities and activities available at just visit Lochore Meadows Country Park website.
Kinglassie was a popular rest point for pilgrims making their way to St Andrews. There has been a church here since the 1100s, although the current one dates from 1773. The parish church and St Finglassinâ€™s holy well were popular pilgrim destinations as places for healing and prayer.
Following the Protestant Reformation in the late-1500s, pilgrimage was outlawed in Scotland. A Parliamentary Act of 1581 made pilgrimage to chapels, wells and crosses a punishable offence. The Synod of Fife felt the need to pass a further motion in 1649 demanding punishment for visiting holy wells. People were clearly prepared to take the risk.
It is unknown whether the name of the village, its church and well come from the Gaelic Kil Glaisne, meaning â€˜church by the burnâ€™, or whether they are named after an actual saint.
For futher information on the Fife Pilgrim Way visit the resources section of our website.